Search Our Site

Page Navigation

Section Banner

Sinkford in Africa: Interactive Webcast

Unitarian Universalist (UU) Sunday School classes are invited to “link-up” with Reverend Sinkford during his journey on three Sunday mornings.

  • Sunday, November 9, at 11:00 a.m. Eastern, 10:00 a.m. Central, 9:00 a.m. Mountain, 8:00 a.m. Pacific
     
  • Sunday, November 16, at noon Eastern, 11:00 a.m. Central, 10:00 a.m. Mountain, 9:00 a.m. Pacific
     
  • Sunday, November 23, at 2:00 p.m. Eastern, 1:00 p.m. Central, Noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific

During each webcast, Sunday School classes can access live audio and video of Reverend Sinkford talking about his journey, and communicate with him through a “chat” interface. Webcasts are scheduled to last for 1 hour. Sunday School classes of all ages are welcome to participate.

How to Link Up

The webcasts will utilize streaming video technology through Ustream, a free "internet TV" broadcasting service.

Be sure that your computer is updated with the latest Adobe Flash plug-in. We also recommend using the Firefox browser, though Ustream should work on all browser types.

The broadcast can be accessed by visiting the Sinkford in Africa page on Ustream and entering the password necessary to join (email international @ uua.org for this information).

Interactive Web Chat

There is an embedded chat program available for interactivity between the viewers and President Sinkford. The chat window appears to the right of the video window. This feature can be accessed by registering a free account with Ustream. It only takes a few moments to set up and will be very helpful in identifying participants in the discussion.

Depending on your firewall settings, you may or may not be able to utilize the live chat function. If this is the case and settings on your network cannot allow for this chat feature, comments can be left on the show's page (below the video feed) to which President Sinkford can reply. Alternatively, questions can be submitted to international @ uua.org prior to the start of the webcasts.

Troubleshooting

As with all new technology, we suggest you test out Ustream prior to the scheduled broadcasts. Familiarize yourself with its features and layout, practice viewing other available programming on the site, and practice online chatting during some of the broadcasts.

If you would like to test out the technology directly with the International Resources Office, please let us know! We'd be happy to air a test-broadcast.

You may also visit the Ustream Help Center; the International Resources Office will be available to assist with any technological troubleshooting as well.

In the event of technical difficulties, we ask for your flexibility and understanding.

Please contact the International Resources Office (international @ uua.org) to sign up and receive instructions for connecting to a web-cast.

For more information contact international @ uua.org.

This work is made possible by the generosity of individual donors and congregations. Please consider making a donation today.

Last updated on Thursday, August 2, 2012.

Sidebar Content, Page Navigation

 

Updated and Popular

Recently Updated

For Newcomers

Learn more about the Beliefs & Principles of Unitarian Universalism, or read our online magazine, UU World, for features on today's Unitarian Universalists. Visit an online UU church, or find a congregation near you.

Page Navigation